Accreditation Process

How to become a Breastfeeding-Friendly Nursery?

Breastfeeding Friendly accreditation is a staged process as the following:

First stage
  • Register of intent: The nursery registers with SBFO to establish its intention and book an orientation visit.
  • Orientation visit: An orientation visit from SBFO team to assist the nursery plan how they are going to achieve accreditation.
Second stage
  • Certificate of commitment: The first award, given when there is a breastfeeding policy (4 steps) and a signed commitment from the director of the nursery.
Third stage
  • Assessment: an official visit of the assessors in the facility to check the mother's room and interview the staff and clients.
Full Accreditation stage
  • The accreditation is valid for 3 years
  • The standard achieved needs to be maintained, and to be re-assessed for renewing the accreditation.